Mini Art School #2 – Fonts and Elements & Principles of Design

Homework #1 – Fonts

This was a fun exercise. I enjoyed playing around with the different fonts and experimenting with what appealed to my eye and what words I associated with the different fonts.

But once again, I ran into problems getting my images to show up.

I ended up making the file into a PDF and then I was able to at least paste a link to that (or at least I think I did).

Rutgers – Multimedia Design homework MMDC -Fonts

 

Homework #2 – Elements and Principles of Design

For the second part of the homework I elected to do Exercise #2 at the end of Chapter 5 in which we were to find photographs in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Reading Room and use elements and principles of design to explain why I liked the photos.

(And may I say hooray for .jpg images which have restored my faith in my ability to do a visual post on my blog!)

 

rutgers - chicago skyline

Photo #1 – The Chicago Skyline

Oh my goodness, where do I begin with how much I love this photo and why.

Putting aside my sentimental feelings (Chicago is my hometown), I can say this photo spoke to me for several reasons related to our readings on elements and principles of good design.

First, this photo showing off the varied shapes of buildings in downtown Chicago was a great example of Element #3: Shape/Form and the shapes/forms were punctuated by the twin antennas on top of the John Hancock Building. This was also a beautiful display of Element #5: color, including the indigo sky with the tinge of deep pink at the horizon, and the contrast of the black buildings peppered with white lights and the surprising little ribbon of red around the top of the Hancock building. The mirror images of the building in Lake Michigan also creates a very cool and creative example of Principle No. 3: Balance.

 

rutgers - flamingo sculpture

Photo #2 – The Flamingo Sculpture

I selected this photo of the Alexander Calder “Flamingo” sculpture (also located in Chicago) for my second example of elements and principles of good design.

First and foremost, this was a great example of Element No. 3: Shape/Form. The sculpture itself is an intriguing combination of curves, straight lines and angles. In pulling back to show the buildings behind the sculpture, we get even more shapes – the small, lighted rectangular windows – creating a sort of grid, the medium sized, lighted rectangular glass doors and windows and the larger shapes of the two buildings. Those repeating rectangular shapes also provide an example of Principle No. 5: Rhythm/Pattern. Element No. 5: Color can be seen, not only in the bright red of the sculpture but in the contrast between the yellowed lights illuminating the windows and glass doors and the buildings which appear to be black as well as a midnight blue. This range of colors also give a representation of Principle No. 2: Contrast. We can also see Element No. 2: Line and how it represents  the energy and a contemporary edge of the buildings and sculpture. I also this is a terrific example of Principle No. 1: Focal Point/Emphasis. Here, the focal point is the  sculpture with the buildings serving as a backdrop, albeit a very vibrant one.

 

rutgers - carmen and geoffrey

Photo #3 – Carmen de Lavallade and Geoffrey Holder

I’m a dance person (fan, critic and teacher) so this photo spoke to me on several levels. Carmen and Geoffrey are sort of a royal couple in the dance world. And this photo captures their collective regalness. I was first drawn to the way their wrists are crossed and their fingers are extended. All of this contributes to being a wonderful example of Element No. 3: Shape/Form.  Notice the beautiful musculature of Geoffrey’s torso as well as the shape of his bald head and the shape of her turban. I also think this is a wonderful example of Element No. 7: Value. The multiple tones of light and dark show how many different tones can exist in the realm of black and white.

 

rutgers - pas de deux

Photo # 4 – Pas de deux

Again, I turned to the dance as a source of inspiration and beauty.

From a purely dance perspective this is not the greatest of photos. The arms of both the ballerina and her partner are captured before it appears either has fully completed the movement. And yet there is something very beautiful about this photo and on several levels. In this photo we can see examples of Element No. 1: Space in the way the photo uses negative space  to draw the eye to the dancers. The dancers’ bodies – hers vertical, his horizontal and stretched represent Element No. 3: Shape/Form. Color – Element No. 5 – is represented in the lavender and indigo tones of the dancers’ costumes. The contrast between the costumes and the surrounding darkness of the stage also shows an example of Principle No. 2: Contrast.

 

One thought on “Mini Art School #2 – Fonts and Elements & Principles of Design

  1. I love love love the fonts and words you chose. I thought about doing this exercise but couldn’t think of anything creative. You did a great job with this! I love how you used symbols to type out silly symbols. I really like the way you broke down the elements and principles in the photos you selected. I like that you selected photos that meant something to you so it really made it personal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

